What Size Fuse To Use?

Discussion in 'General Car Audio Discussions' started by Jamesr316, Aug 20, 2004.

1. Jamesr316

Jamesr316 Full Member

Hello All, newbie here, referred by another member.

I have an Audiobahn 1800 watt class d amp, along with an audiobahn alum12x sub (dual 6 ohm). In the manual it does not specify its max current draw. I plan to add another amp for my speakers in the future along with this one, so I am looking for an inline fuse shortly after the power (1/0 gauge) and then a fused distributor (from 1/0 to 4). My question is which amount should both of the fuses be?

Thanks for your help

-James

2. sandt38

sandt38 Full Member

120 amps should do very well for that amp in most length runs.

3. geolemon

geolemon Full Member

You need 2 types of fuses:
    1) One located at the amp, to fuse protect each individual amp. Most amps have them built in, you don't need to augment these with external fuses in the rear of your car. This fuse protects the amp from any overdraw situations.
    2) One located on the main power wire, 18" or less from the battery. This fuse protects your car, battery, and wiring from any situation resulting in a short circuit on that main power wire - whether that's a screw through the wire, friction rubbing the casing off, or a loose connection. The short circuit will cause hundreds of amps of current to flow, popping the fuse up front, before any damage can be done. This fuse needs to be at least as large as the sum of all your fusing at the rear of the car, and I like to factor in another 5%-10% just to cover any current that might be lost to resistance in the main wire.
    So, your underhood fuse needs to be at least the sum of your fusing in the rear, and can be quite large - the larger it is though, the greater your risk if a short actually develops. I'd suggest your total fusing plus 5%-10%, personally... but if you purchased say, the Audiopipe 1/0 kit that includes a 250a fuse - then go with it, no harm done. ;)