Newbie needing some advice.

Discussion in 'General Car Audio Discussions' started by rycher, Dec 31, 2010.

1. rycher

rycher Member

Hi guys (and gals)
    Newbie here with a few questions. I'm 43 and haven't installed an aftermarket stereo in over 22 years, so please excuse some of my ignorance.
    I recently purchased a 79 Pontiac Trans Am to fix up (mid life crisis). I knew I wasn't going for a totally stock restoration, so I decided to do what I haven't in years and add a decent audio system. I have the interior out of the car so seemed like the best time to install. I've got a Kenwood kdc-mp 142 receiver, a Kenwood kac 6404 amp, a pair of kfc-x693 300 watt 6x9's in the rear, and a pair of Kenwood kfc-1662s 180 watt 6.5" door speakers. I've mounting the amp to a carpet covered board in the trunk to the rear of the back seat. The receiver only has RCA's for a subwoofer so all my speaker out hookups from the head is using the line in? wires. One question, when a pair of speakers are rated 300 watts max, is this 300 each speaker or 150 each? I'm trying to determine how to set the channels power outage to not blow speakers. I bought an amplifier install kit, so I'm using the supplied powerwire, groundwire, ect.
    I've got the amps main power supply (with fuse) ran to positive terminal of battery and the ground running to the chassis, area is bare metal and tight. I also have a ground wire going fromn battery's - terminal to chassis. I haven't got to the receiver yet, but I do have all the wiring in place, have wire going from head's power control (Blue/white) to amps power control terminal, and a wire from there going to the dash area waiting to be hooked up. Ok, the heads yellow (battery) wire I have run to the battery's positive terminal (not hooked up to battey yet), I have installed an inline 25a fuse in this wire.