Newbie DIY setup for Van - please help!!

Discussion in 'General Car Audio Discussions' started by WhiteVanMan, Jan 25, 2010.

1. WhiteVanMan

WhiteVanMan Member

Hey all

I have so many questions... well I guess I wouldn`t be here otherwise! Please bear with me, it`s not simply that I like the sound of my own voice here... I have just bought a Movano van (hi-top, LWB - huge) and as a carpenter who spends a lot of time driving it around, and since I value my music over things like tv or sex, I want to set up my sound just right. I have one of the most eclectic music collections on the planet, but would like to set up my system for hip hop and drum n bass specifically, so would like clearly defined lows (NOT the thud-thud bass - rather clarity of rolling basslines etc). Being 32, I want to hear all the bass notes at normal volume, not deafen myself or rattle my teeth out.

Being a complete novice at this sort of thing, I`ve done quite a lot of research on the net. Currently I have a pair of Kenwood KFC-w3002 subs (500w peak, 12” @ 150w RMS, 4 ohms) kicking about, and I just bought the following to power them up: Kenwood KAC-7204, 1000w, 2 ch amp (RMS: 170W x 2 at 4ohms / 250W x 2 at 2ohms / 500W x 1 at Bridged 4ohms) .

So I figure that the subs/amp are fairly well matched (?). If I run the amp at 170W x 2 at 4ohms (dunno how yet but I`ll figure that out later.. don`t even know what bridged means lol) this should do it. Now since those subs aren`t in production anymore, it took me a whole day (yes a whole day) to find the ported box size for them (off someone else`s forum post), which is apparently 1.6 cubic feet with a 3” diameter port by 6” long. Ported is, as I understand it, is the best for bass definition as opposed to thud-thud bass.