Need advice/Help with new system

Discussion in 'General Car Audio Discussions' started by sbelew, Aug 20, 2010.

1. sbelew

sbelew Member

I recently purchased a 99 Ford F150 XL Extended Cab. It has the factory stereo in it currently. I installed a pair of Boston SL80 6x8 speakers in the rear doors that I had purchased for another car and would not fit. It sounds a lot better but need more upgrades. wanted to get some more experienced comments or suggestions before I proceed.

I was thinking of getting a set of the Boston SR80's for the front doors, the Kenwood KDC-HD545U Stereo with the bluetooth adapter. I found on ebay a single JL audio 10w1v2 sub in a box designed to fit under the passenger side of the rear seat with .65 cubic feet or airspace. And a Kicker 10Z700.5 5 channel amp to run it all.

I would really appreciate some comments, suggestions, warnings here as I am really looking forward to doing this project, but I have no real knowledge of what works and what doesn't. I am looking for sound quality with this system.

Thanks All
    Steve

Last edited: Aug 20, 2010
  2. pedro quiroga

pedro quiroga Well-Known Member

sounds to me like you have the makings of a nice system. when looking for wire look for a quality 4 gauge or larger if you plan on upgrading.

do the big 3 (google it, or look for the thread here). it will help by letting the power you have on hand (factory alt) flow better. for lack of a better explanation.

3. sbelew

sbelew Member