Jeep radio modification

Discussion in 'General Car Audio Discussions' started by edinc90, Jun 8, 2006.

1. edinc90

edinc90 New Member

As I said in the new members section, I am new to car audio but I know about electronics and I can solder, so I guess this won't be too hard ;) . I have a 2004 Jeep Wrangler with the radio/single CD head unit, all stock. I have successfully removed the dash and radio and put it back in without breaking anything. What I want to do is add a line-in so I can play an iPod, PSP, etc. through the Jeep speakers. I would use one of those tape adapters if it weren't for the lack of a tape player in the Jeep.
    The first problem I have is that I can't find the color codes for the radio wiring harness. The most recent ones are for 1999, and not all the colors are listed. In fact there is only one plug instead of two like in the older Jeeps. (This is where I'm getting the color codes.) If anyone can help me with that it would be appreciated, but I can figure it out by testing, but it will take longer.
    The second problem is that the CD player in part of the head unit, so I can't get to the stock amp to run the input to. I'm guessing that an iPod won't be able to drive the 4 speakers by itself, so I'll need an amp. Am I correct in thinking this? If I do need one I would like a small one that isn't too expensive. It doesn't have to sound excellent because I only have the stock sound system anyway.
    I have a schematic for the wiring of the switch to go from radio to line in here. Any input or help on this topic is greatly appreciated.

2. weird22person

weird22person Full Member

What brand is the headunit? Some newer cars have good brand stereo systems. If the company that makes the head makes an interface cable it will make you life easier.

3. Hautewheeler

Hautewheeler Full Member