JBL subwoofers

Discussion in 'Car Subwoofers' started by iondb, May 3, 2006.

1. iondb

iondb Full Member

Hi there guys

Just wanna know where JBL subwoofers fall in terms of quality and performance etc:confused: What will be better for the same price? Where I live the good stuff aren't always available and usually is very overpriced.:mad:

Thanx

2. Hautewheeler

Hautewheeler Full Member

I have had a lot of experience with jbl subwoofers, and components, for that matter. I have built several systems for friends and I am very impressed with the quality of the newer jbl gto series. They always end up sounding better than I thought they would (except in small sealed enclosures). They do very well in a ported or bandpass box that's built to the specs for the sub. It is my opinion that they are a great value, (meaning a lot of product for the money) and if you can find the sub that you're looking for, I'd say buy it.. it's highly unlikely that you'd be disappointed.

and the new gto amps (2004 and newer) are great too!

just my two cents.. fella's?

3. 99montecarlo

99montecarlo New Member

I agree. the gto series subwoofers sound great for the money. and also much better than i expected at first. i did a system in an 02 jetta turbo diesel with 2 15" gto's and 2 rockford fosgate 451s amps, both in their each 3 cubic foot ported boxes tuned to 30 hz. SUPER loud for the money she spent for the subs.

4. iondb

iondb Full Member

Thanx you guys.
    I'm thinking of buying a 10" JBL1000 series sub in their JBL built ported box. I'm driving a small compact hatch, so I think it would be sufficient. I got only about 150wrms for the sub.

5. Hautewheeler

Hautewheeler Full Member

small hatchback, single 10" sub, low power?

I totally recommend a bandpass box.. are you any good at building things?

6. iondb

iondb Full Member