How Good Are Audiobahn Amps?

Discussion in 'General Car Audio Discussions' started by kennyg, Dec 13, 2002.

1. The_Ancient

The_Ancient Full Member

I have been using a Class D for about 2 years, still runs strong

2. kennyg

kennyg Full Member

Are they better than the JBL monoblocks? What about quality as compared to other companies? Sorry to ask so many un=informed questions, I just have no idea what to buy, and would like to try something different. I'm just really cautious when buying a brand I've never owned before. BTW, I couldn't find one, but do they make a mono amp that puts out over 600 RMS at 2 ohms? I saw some that were 1 ohm stable, but was wondering about 2 ohm models. All I could find was 1 that was 560 at 2 ohms. Thanks.

3. The_Ancient

The_Ancient Full Member

they dont make a Mono Block for 2ohm like JBL does

IMO jbl's blow :p

the A1200.1D puts out 750+ watts at 2ohm, that is what I have, I thnk the new number is A12001DQ or somehting, same amp really

4. kennyg

kennyg Full Member

Well the one I posted a link for is a class AB monobloac, and It's 560 RMS at 2 ohms, unless it's a missprint.

5. Civic96

Civic96 Full Member

Is there a website that explains the differences in amp classes?

6. kennyg

kennyg Full Member

Well, basicall, Class D Monoblocks are supposed to be more efficient than class A/B amps, which almost every 2 channel, and still some mono amps are. But, at full power, there is almost no difference in current draw (usually). I don't know about you, but I usually play my stuff full-tilt most of the time, therefore I really don't see an advantage to class D.

7. Civic96

Civic96 Full Member

8. The_Ancient

The_Ancient Full Member

no that is not true exactly

IF you run a Class AB full bore at 1ohm or under there is little diffeance between the Class D running at 10hm

but at 4ohm there is Large Differances

9. Audio Nut

Audio Nut Full Member