Help isolating whine

Discussion in 'General Car Audio Discussions' started by freak123, May 21, 2009.

1. freak123

freak123 Full Member

I just installed my speakers, deck, amp and sub. Turn it all on and hear the dreaded whine from the speakers. Increased with gas pedal so I'm thinking alternator whine.Here are the things I tried already:
    Unplug rca's from amp =no whine
    pull deck
    unplug antenna= whine
    pull rca's from deck=no whine
    I tried measuring a bunch of stuff but I'm new to audio so I don't know if any of the numbers matter. I measured from frame to deck ground wire~0.1ohm
    amp ground terminal to frame~0.1ohm.
    amp ground terminal to deck ground~0.1ohm
    After I put the deck back in I noticed the whine had also picked up a little static so obviously I changed something while messing around.
    Also when I put the fan on high it while increase the whine.
    Any suggestions?

2. pedro quiroga

pedro quiroga Well-Known Member

hmm so no whine with rca's unplugged. are they running on the same side as your power?

3. freak123

freak123 Full Member

Nope. The RCA's come down the along the door sill and the power is up the hump in the middle of the truck. Not quite the other side but it seemed like good separation to me? What makes me think it's a ground is that the sound seemed to change a bit after I messed with the deck wiring. I also measured from the head unit chassis to the rca plug ground and saw ~0.1ohms. I'm really trying not to rip everything apart again.

4. pedro quiroga

is this a pioneer head by chance?

5. freak123

freak123 Full Member