help help help... thanks

Discussion in 'Car Stereo Amplifiers' started by confusedmagnum, Jun 16, 2006.

1. confusedmagnum

confusedmagnum Full Member

im a rookie, pls help.

my story:
    i own a 06 dodge magnum and im tryin to install an amp, i just dont know how to find the remote wire. its a stock deck.

my problem:
    i need some tips on how i find the remote wire. if not, which one it is exactly. i'm used to them being all blue, or isolated. in this case neither. thanks.

2. CadillacETC1997

CadillacETC1997 Well-Known Member

easiest way is run a wire from the positive terminal on your battery to it and inline rig a switch near the drivers seat. then whenever you want the subs on flip the switch and tada! SUBS!!!

3. confusedmagnum

thanks

huh, i was thinking of that.. i got 4ga wires tho, is there a special switch i can get for that?

4. Ranger SVO

Ranger SVO Full Member

I might have an easier way. PAC makes a Line Out Converter that supplys a remote out when it detects a signal on the speakers. It works well. Check out the Trunk-LOC

5. aznboi3644

aznboi3644 Full Member

lol you don't need a 4 gauge remote wire...16-18 gauge would do fine....but a line level converter would be prolly easier.

But it would be cool to just have a switch to turn on the amp tho...BUT YOU MAY FORGET TO TURN IT OFF AND DRAIN YOUR BATTERY!!!!

6. confusedmagnum

thanks.

thanks guys.. good suggestions.
    what is that Trunk-LOC? sounds interesting..

7. confusedmagnum

help again..

how do you do a 2 ohm setup? on a set of subs.

8. Ranger SVO

Ranger SVO Full Member

Trunk-LOC is a Line Out Converter that also supplies a remote turn on. Most Factory radios do not have a remote turn-on for an aftermarket amp. So PAC cam out with the Trunk-LOC. When it detects a voltage on your speakers (all factory radios put a voltage on the speakers when ever the radio is on, regardless of volume), it supplies a remote 12 volts to turn on your amp.