Head unit was working, now isn't

Discussion in 'General Car Audio Discussions' started by manik1770, Apr 14, 2010.

1. manik1770

manik1770 New Member

Hey Guys.
    I'm jumping onto any forum possible to try and get some help here.

A couple of months ago my stock HU went out, and I thought that it was just dead. I had a 100W 4 channel hooked up to it for well over 3-4 years with no issues = must be a dead head unit. Saved up some money and got an Eclipse AVN6610 from a friend w/ipod adapter and bluetooth calling adapter as well. Installed it all and everything was working and I was stoked that I had a radio again.
    3 weeks of driving, and earlier today was good, but when I just jumped back into my car >>>> IT'S NOT WORKING.... Just like the stock HU. Fuse that goes to the radio / clock still good. If anyone can help me out and give me any suggestions on what/where to check, please do. I just forked over too much money for this HU to be bunked out also. I'm not a pro installer, but I've installed amps / speakers in 3 of my cars in the past.
    I really hope the HU isn't another expensive paper.

2002 Toyota Tacoma Prerunner extended cab, V6

2. cccullen

cccullen Full Member

didn't notice this thread til now...

so no power to the head unit now? hmm, you may want to try to test your power wire, maybe it's not giving enough juice or maybe your ground wire is no good.

what i would do is rewire your power and ground wires to see if you can get power to the head unit. just run a wire straight to the pos battery terminal to determine if the power is a problem and then find another grounding point for your HU. try that first then get back and report. :)

3. Khayman

Khayman Full Member