External crossovers

Discussion in 'General Car Audio Discussions' started by Civic96, Oct 19, 2002.

1. Civic96

Civic96 Full Member

Im planning on gettin a JBL 600.1 and from what I hear the crossovers are piss poor and voices bleed through the subs.
    How much do external crossovers go for?
    I have a Sony Xplod 650X HU and supposedly you can tune the fequencies fairly well but Im not that good with caraudio so I dont know if that means anything.

2. sandt38

sandt38 Full Member

Don't buy a 600.1. Spend a bit more and get an amp with features, rather than spending MORE for the amp AND a crossover. I got to play with a 1200.1 this weekend and I was NOT impressed, as far as the features go. It seemed good and powerful, it just felt cheap...

3. Civic96

Civic96 Full Member

Im open to suggestions but I need a 1 ohm stable amp b/c i have a pair of 4 ohm subs. It needs to give each 300W.

4. sandt38

sandt38 Full Member

You have a pair of 4 ohm subs and you need a 1 ohm amp? Refigure your math. You need a 2 ohm stable amp my friend.

Z5000
    Z9000

5. The_Ancient

The_Ancient Full Member

he has a pair of DVC 4ohm subs

Kicker compVr's to be exact

thus yeilding a 4ohm mono or 1ohm mono load......

Last edited by Michael at Oct 20 2002, 07:09 AM

6. sandt38

sandt38 Full Member

Ahhh!!! I was trying to figure where the 1 ohm deal was coming from...

7. Honest Bob

Honest Bob Full Member

The only thing I found wrong with the crossover was that it was only marked at the begining and at the end. Thus making it really hard to set the crossover (especially since the knob turns two times). Other than getting it set it works fine. Nothing comes through that isnt supposed to. I recently set the crossover in my head unit for the subs. It works alright but I found that it dosent catch everything. That can be solved by getting the jbl's crossover to the general frequency that you are going for and then adjusting the hu's crossover.