Bump On A Budget

Discussion in 'General Car Audio Discussions' started by DatDude08, Mar 30, 2009.

1. DatDude08

DatDude08 Full Member

For a quick introduction I will say that I am a car audio newb. I have a 1965 Mustang and have finally given in to the pleas of my friends (and I want it also :D) to get some audio in it. Hopefully you guys will share some knowledge with me as to which way to go with this.

I recently purchased a Clarion HU and when that gets here I'll see how the wiring goes, but my current question doesn't have to do with that. I am on a fairly tight budget (being 17) and I am looking to get 2 12" subs and a monoblock amp. I have a buddy with Rockford Fosgate P3s that sound great and also have a buddy with 2 Kicker Comp 12s and his sytem is rocking as well. I am hoping that you guys may be able to give me a good system setup for around $500 that has good bass. I already have 2 6x9s so I'm looking for sub/amp combinations that will work good.

Also, any tips will be greatly appreciated.

2. Kvo_8

Kvo_8 Full Member

are there any brands you're looking at? there's a lot of sub/amp combos you can do thats under $500

3. DatDude08

DatDude08 Full Member

I'm open to suggestions, but kinda leaning toward Kicker.

4. cccullen

cccullen Full Member

ok, the most important thing is you need a good front stage. so you will need some speakers up front as well. the 6x9's are good for rear fill but just remember, when you watch a band they don't play behind you they play in front of you so that's where the vocals and mid bass should be coming from.

In my personal opinion the RF subs tend to screw up easily, i think the tinsel leads mess up right away so i really wouldn't go near them. $500 for subs and amps and some comps up front can be done.

What kind of car will this be going into?

for the subs, i would go with these.

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_9357_Hifonics+HFi+12D4.html

sub amp: