Amp Shutting Off/Not Turning On

Discussion in 'General Car Audio Discussions' started by nexja, May 24, 2010.

1. nexja

nexja New Member

Hi, everyone. I'll start this off by saying I'm an extreme novice when it comes to car stereo and the technical details of it but I'll try to post as much information as possible. Here's my setup:

Amplifier: AQ 2200D Mono - http://www.audioque.com/aq/?page_id=28
    Subs: 2 12'' Kicker CVX dual 4 ohm - http://www.kicker.com/comp_vx
    Cap: Tsunami 5 Farad - http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/418E40W5CXL._SS500_.jpg
    Headunit: JVC EXAD (Old model) http://ak.buy.com/db_assets/large_images/569/202729569.jpg

Well, I guess the problems first started when I picked up the amplifier in November of 09. Don't get me wrong, the system was loud as hell and you could hear it from blocks and blocks away but the amp was constantly clipping. Never heard any distortion or had any problems until about a month ago when I got a new speaker box and a buddy turned up the settings on the amp. The amp had an even-more constant clipping light on the bass remote and started to shut off until eventually it would not turn back on.

I shipped the amplifier back to AudioQue and they informed me that I had completely blown the amp, more than likely due to lack of power to supply the amp because I was using a stock battery and no capacitor.

About a week or two ago, I got my amp back from AudioQue. Got it hooked up and things were working fine. Still not able to turn it up as loud as it seemed it would go without clipping or my lights in my car/headlights dimming so I went out and bought and Optima Red Top battery and got it hooked up. The system got louder but clipping was still an issue so I opted to buy a capacitor too thinking it could do no harm.